Home › Laws by state › Tennessee

Is plug-in solar legal in Tennessee?

No specific law

No plug-in solar bill has been introduced in this state.

Tennessee has no plug-in solar law. Plugging a kit into an outlet falls under your utility's interconnection rules, which usually require approval.
Max system sizeNo capsmallest tier: No size floor
Electrician / permitPermit and inspectionutility rules apply
Tell the utility?Interconnection applicationtypical fee $750
CertificationUL 1741 inverterrequired by every utility

What this means for you

✓ What you can do

  • Apply for interconnection like any small generator (No size floor), typical fee $750.
  • Use portable panels with a power station, never connected to house wiring, with no permission at all.
  • Install conventional rooftop or ground-mount solar through the standard interconnection process.

✕ Not yet / not allowed

  • Plug a grid-tied kit into an outlet without an interconnection agreement; it can breach your service terms.
  • Expect a permit or wiring exemption; none exists without a law.
  • Count on a law soon: no plug-in solar bill has been filed.

What the rules say

No plug-in solar law or bill in Tennessee.

No law doesn't mean no rules. In Tennessee, a kit that pushes power back into your home wiring is treated like any other grid-connected generator. Most utilities require an interconnection application, and plugging in without one can breach your service agreement. Off-grid use (panels charging a battery that powers devices directly) avoids this entirely.

Before you plug in: Tennessee checklist

  1. The rule that applies is None at state level; TVA (federal) via 153 local power companies's interconnection process: TVA Dispersed Power Production / Green Connect; LPC programs (NESolar).
  2. A plug-in kit falls in the smallest tier (No size floor). Not stated (NES); Volunteer EC $750 DPP (dated).
  3. Permits: 2017 NEC with TN amendments; local permits.
  4. Only consider kits with a UL 1741-listed inverter (UL 3700 preferred); a non-listed inverter will not be approved anywhere.
  5. What exports are worth: Avoided cost (~3 c/kWh); NES displaced-energy credit 4.3-7.0 c + purchase 2.9-3.1 c.
  6. If approval is slow or costly, a portable panel and power station (never connected to house wiring) needs no permission.
  7. No plug-in solar bill has been filed yet; the nearby states that passed laws in 2026 are the template to expect.

The rules in detail

Tennessee has no statute specific to plug-in solar. Average residential electricity price: 13.71¢ per kWh (EIA, July 2026).

Your utility's rules in Tennessee

No utility in Tennessee publishes a rule that specifically allows or bans outlet-connected generation, so the general interconnection agreement is what applies. Here is what the largest residential utilities say and require.

UtilityResidential customersPublished position on plug-in kits
Nashville Electric Service 417,640 No specific statement; 'No Energy Resource may be deployed until it has been approved by NES'. source
Memphis Light, Gas & Water 380,286 No specific statement; TVA DPP contract; Electric Service Availability charge for self-generators. source
Middle Tennessee Electric 307,370 No specific statement.
Knoxville Utilities Board 193,707 No specific statement.

Customer counts: EIA Form 861, 2024. Positions checked October 18, 2026.

Interconnection terms for a sub-1.2 kW system

RegulatorNone at state level; TVA (federal) via 153 local power companies.
Governing ruleTVA Dispersed Power Production / Green Connect; LPC programs (NESolar).
Smallest tierNo size floor; LPC application.
Application feeNot stated (NES); Volunteer EC $750 DPP (dated).
Electrician / permit2017 NEC with TN amendments; local permits.
Export compensationAvoided cost (~3 c/kWh); NES displaced-energy credit 4.3-7.0 c + purchase 2.9-3.1 c.
Electrical code2017 NEC (eff. 10/1/2018).
In practice
  • LPC boards under TVA rules decide, not a state PUC.
  • Still on 2017 NEC statewide.

State incentives

  • None for residential.

Who is pushing for a law

  • Southern Alliance for Clean Energy
  • Tennessee Solar Energy Association
  • Sierra Club TN

Savings preview: 800 W kit in Tennessee

About 864 kWh per year at 13.71¢/kWh, assuming a south-facing balcony or patio mount with typical shading losses.

Adjust for your setup →

≈ $118/year

Frequently asked questions

Is plug-in solar legal in Tennessee?

Tennessee has no plug-in solar law. Plugging a kit into an outlet falls under your utility's interconnection rules, which usually require approval.

Do I need a permit or electrician for plug-in solar in Tennessee?

Default. Check with your local building department before you plug in.

Do I have to tell my utility in Tennessee?

Default (TVA distributors). Plugging in a grid-tied kit without following this can breach your service agreement.

What can an 800 W plug-in kit save in Tennessee?

Roughly 864 kWh and about $118 per year at Tennessee's average residential rate of 13.71¢/kWh, assuming a typical balcony or patio mount. See the calculator for your exact setup.

Sources

  1. Bright Saver state tracker
  2. tva.com
  3. Bright Saver state tracker
  4. Mike Holt NEC adoption list
  5. EIA Form 861 (2024)

Neighboring states

Spotted a change in Tennessee's law? Tell us and we will update this page.