Home › Laws by state › Louisiana
Is plug-in solar legal in Louisiana?
What this means for you
✓ What you can do
- Apply for interconnection like any small generator (Residential <=25 kW), Not stated (gap).
- Use portable panels with a power station, never connected to house wiring, with no permission at all.
- Install conventional rooftop or ground-mount solar through the standard interconnection process.
✕ Not yet / not allowed
- Plug a grid-tied kit into an outlet without an interconnection agreement; it can breach your service terms.
- Expect a permit or wiring exemption; none exists without a law.
- Count on a law soon: no plug-in solar bill has been filed.
What the rules say
No plug-in solar law or bill in Louisiana.
Before you plug in: Louisiana checklist
- The rule that applies is Louisiana Public Service Commission (all but Entergy New Orleans)'s interconnection process: LPSC General Order Docket R-33929 (2019).
- A plug-in kit falls in the smallest tier (Residential <=25 kW). Not stated (gap).
- Permits: Parish permits; 2020 NEC; licensed electrical contractors.
- Only consider kits with a UL 1741-listed inverter (UL 3700 preferred); a non-listed inverter will not be approved anywhere.
- What exports are worth: Avoided cost ~2.6 c/kWh (post-2019 systems).
- If approval is slow or costly, a portable panel and power station (never connected to house wiring) needs no permission.
- No plug-in solar bill has been filed yet; the nearby states that passed laws in 2026 are the template to expect.
The rules in detail
Louisiana has no statute specific to plug-in solar. Average residential electricity price: 12.72¢ per kWh (EIA, July 2026).
Your utility's rules in Louisiana
No utility in Louisiana publishes a rule that specifically allows or bans outlet-connected generation, so the general interconnection agreement is what applies. Here is what the largest residential utilities say and require.
| Utility | Residential customers | Published position on plug-in kits |
|---|---|---|
| Entergy Louisiana | 957,522 | No specific statement; exports 'credited on the customer's bill at the current Avoided Cost rate of $0.0259331 per kWh'. source |
| Cleco Power | 251,927 | No specific statement. |
| SWEPCO | 207,011 | No specific statement. |
| Entergy New Orleans | 188,178 | No specific statement; regulated by New Orleans City Council. |
Interconnection terms for a sub-1.2 kW system
| Regulator | Louisiana Public Service Commission (all but Entergy New Orleans). |
|---|---|
| Governing rule | LPSC General Order Docket R-33929 (2019). |
| Smallest tier | Residential <=25 kW. |
| Application fee | Not stated (gap). |
| Electrician / permit | Parish permits; 2020 NEC; licensed electrical contractors. |
| Export compensation | Avoided cost ~2.6 c/kWh (post-2019 systems). |
| Electrical code | 2020 NEC (eff. 1/1/2023). |
- Lowest export value in Gulf South except Orleans Parish retail NEM.
- Co-ops are LPSC-regulated and under the same order.
State incentives
- State credit expired; no sales-tax exemption.
Who is pushing for a law
- Alliance for Affordable Energy
- GSREIA
- Sierra Club Delta Chapter
Savings preview: 800 W kit in Louisiana
Adjust for your setup →≈ $112/year
Frequently asked questions
Is plug-in solar legal in Louisiana?
Louisiana has no plug-in solar law. Plugging a kit into an outlet falls under your utility's interconnection rules, which usually require approval.
Do I need a permit or electrician for plug-in solar in Louisiana?
Default. Check with your local building department before you plug in.
Do I have to tell my utility in Louisiana?
Default. Plugging in a grid-tied kit without following this can breach your service agreement.
What can an 800 W plug-in kit save in Louisiana?
Roughly 883 kWh and about $112 per year at Louisiana's average residential rate of 12.72¢/kWh, assuming a typical balcony or patio mount. See the calculator for your exact setup.