Home › Laws by state › Missouri

Is plug-in solar legal in Missouri?

Bill stalled (likely refiled 2027) HB 2528 / HB 2444
  1. Introduced
  2. Passed one chamber
  3. Passed both chambers
  4. Signed
  5. In effect

The 2026 bill died at this stage; sponsors are expected to refile in 2027.

Not yet. Missouri considered a plug-in solar bill (HB 2528 / HB 2444) that did not pass in 2026; a new version is expected. Until then, utility interconnection rules apply.
Max system sizeNo capsmallest tier: <=10 kW: 30-day decision
Electrician / permitPermit and inspectionutility rules apply
Tell the utility?Interconnection application'applicable parallel generator interconnection fees' (amount not stated)
CertificationUL 1741 inverterrequired by every utility

What this means for you

✓ What you can do

  • Apply for interconnection like any small generator (<=10 kW: 30-day decision), 'applicable parallel generator interconnection fees' (amount not stated).
  • Use portable panels with a power station, never connected to house wiring, with no permission at all.
  • Install conventional rooftop or ground-mount solar through the standard interconnection process.

✕ Not yet / not allowed

  • Plug a grid-tied kit into an outlet without an interconnection agreement; it can breach your service terms.
  • Expect a permit or wiring exemption; none exists without a law.
  • Count on HB 2528 / HB 2444 this year: Prefiled Dec 2025; no committee referral until 5/15/2026 (Emerging Issues); dead; deferred to 2027.

What the rules say

Missouri's 2026 bills stalled; Ameren/Evergy interconnection rules apply.

What happened in 2026. HB 2528 / HB 2444: Prefiled Dec 2025; no committee referral until 5/15/2026 (Emerging Issues); dead; deferred to 2027.

Before you plug in: Missouri checklist

  1. The rule that applies is Missouri Public Service Commission's interconnection process: Net Metering and Easy Connection Act RSMo 386.890; 20 CSR 4240-20.065.
  2. A plug-in kit falls in the smallest tier (<=10 kW: 30-day decision). 'applicable parallel generator interconnection fees' (amount not stated).
  3. Permits: No statewide NEC; municipal permits; certified installer or self-install.
  4. Only consider kits with a UL 1741-listed inverter (UL 3700 preferred); a non-listed inverter will not be approved anywhere.
  5. What exports are worth: Monthly retail netting, excess at avoided cost.
  6. If approval is slow or costly, a portable panel and power station (never connected to house wiring) needs no permission.
  7. Watch HB 2528 / HB 2444: Prefiled Dec 2025; no committee referral until 5/15/2026 (Emerging Issues); dead; deferred to 2027.

The rules in detail

Missouri has no statute specific to plug-in solar (the only bill so far is HB 2528 / HB 2444). Average residential electricity price: 16.09¢ per kWh (EIA, July 2026).

    Your utility's rules in Missouri

    No utility in Missouri publishes a rule that specifically allows or bans outlet-connected generation, so the general interconnection agreement is what applies. Here is what the largest residential utilities say and require.

    UtilityResidential customersPublished position on plug-in kits
    Ameren Missouri 1,095,619 No specific statement; design approval letter 'approves the customer to proceed with system installation'; 30-day review for <=10 kW. source
    Evergy Missouri West / Metro 579,443 No specific statement.
    Empire District (Liberty) 142,537 No specific statement.
    City Utilities of Springfield 105,029 No specific statement.

    Customer counts: EIA Form 861, 2024. Positions checked October 18, 2026.

    Interconnection terms for a sub-1.2 kW system

    RegulatorMissouri Public Service Commission.
    Governing ruleNet Metering and Easy Connection Act RSMo 386.890; 20 CSR 4240-20.065.
    Smallest tier<=10 kW: 30-day decision.
    Application fee'applicable parallel generator interconnection fees' (amount not stated).
    Electrician / permitNo statewide NEC; municipal permits; certified installer or self-install.
    Export compensationMonthly retail netting, excess at avoided cost.
    Electrical codeNone statewide (local only).
    In practice
    • Statutory 30-day clock for <=10 kW applies to munis/co-ops too.
    • Republican-sponsored bills died from inattention, not opposition.

    Plug-in solar bills in Missouri, 2025–2026

    BillSponsorStatusWhat it would do
    HB 2528 / HB 2444Rep. Matthiesen (R) (HB 2528)Prefiled Dec 2025; no committee referral until 5/15/2026 (Emerging Issues); dead; deferred to 2027.Exempts portable solar generation devices from net metering; anti-energizing feature; no utility approval/fees.

    State incentives

    • Property-tax exemption RSMo 137.100(10).
    • No credit or sales-tax exemption.

    Who is pushing for a law

    • Renew Missouri
    • MOSEIA
    • Sierra Club Missouri (not confirmed)

    Savings preview: 800 W kit in Missouri

    About 896 kWh per year at 16.09¢/kWh, assuming a south-facing balcony or patio mount with typical shading losses.

    Adjust for your setup →

    ≈ $144/year

    Frequently asked questions

    Is plug-in solar legal in Missouri?

    Not yet. Missouri considered a plug-in solar bill (HB 2528 / HB 2444) that did not pass in 2026; a new version is expected. Until then, utility interconnection rules apply.

    Do I need a permit or electrician for plug-in solar in Missouri?

    Default. Check with your local building department before you plug in.

    Do I have to tell my utility in Missouri?

    Default. Plugging in a grid-tied kit without following this can breach your service agreement.

    What can an 800 W plug-in kit save in Missouri?

    Roughly 896 kWh and about $144 per year at Missouri's average residential rate of 16.09¢/kWh, assuming a typical balcony or patio mount. See the calculator for your exact setup.

    Sources

    1. Bright Saver state tracker
    2. ncel.net
    3. documents.house.mo.gov
    4. pluginsolarus.com
    5. Mike Holt NEC adoption list
    6. EIA Form 861 (2024)

    Spotted a change in Missouri's law? Tell us and we will update this page.