Home › Laws by state › South Carolina

Is plug-in solar legal in South Carolina?

Bill stalled (likely refiled 2027) H 4579
  1. Introduced
  2. Passed one chamber
  3. Passed both chambers
  4. Signed
  5. In effect

The 2026 bill died at this stage; sponsors are expected to refile in 2027.

Not yet. South Carolina considered a plug-in solar bill (H 4579) that did not pass in 2026; a new version is expected. Until then, utility interconnection rules apply.
Max system sizeNo capsmallest tier: Certified inverter <=20 kW
Electrician / permitPermit and inspectionutility rules apply
Tell the utility?Interconnection applicationtypical fee $750
CertificationUL 1741 inverterrequired by every utility

What this means for you

✓ What you can do

  • Apply for interconnection like any small generator (Certified inverter <=20 kW), typical fee $750.
  • Use portable panels with a power station, never connected to house wiring, with no permission at all.
  • Install conventional rooftop or ground-mount solar through the standard interconnection process.

✕ Not yet / not allowed

  • Plug a grid-tied kit into an outlet without an interconnection agreement; it can breach your service terms.
  • Expect a permit or wiring exemption; none exists without a law.
  • Count on H 4579 this year: Prefiled 12/16/2025; House LCI; no action; new bill needed 2027.

What the rules say

South Carolina's H 4579 has not advanced; Dominion/Duke interconnection rules apply.

What happened in 2026. H 4579: Prefiled 12/16/2025; House LCI; no action; new bill needed 2027.

Before you plug in: South Carolina checklist

  1. The rule that applies is South Carolina Public Service Commission (Dominion, Duke)'s interconnection process: SC Generator Interconnection Standard; Act 62 (2019) Solar Choice.
  2. A plug-in kit falls in the smallest tier (Certified inverter <=20 kW). Not stated for <=20 kW (Fast Track >20 kW $750).
  3. Permits: 2020 NEC (2023 pending); local permits; LLR licensing with homeowner exemption.
  4. Only consider kits with a UL 1741-listed inverter (UL 3700 preferred); a non-listed inverter will not be approved anywhere.
  5. What exports are worth: Solar Choice netting (Dominion/Duke); avoided cost ~4 c (Santee Cooper).
  6. If approval is slow or costly, a portable panel and power station (never connected to house wiring) needs no permission.
  7. Watch H 4579: Prefiled 12/16/2025; House LCI; no action; new bill needed 2027.

The rules in detail

South Carolina has no statute specific to plug-in solar (the only bill so far is H 4579). Average residential electricity price: 15.47¢ per kWh (EIA, July 2026).

    Your utility's rules in South Carolina

    No utility in South Carolina publishes a rule that specifically allows or bans outlet-connected generation, so the general interconnection agreement is what applies. Here is what the largest residential utilities say and require.

    UtilityResidential customersPublished position on plug-in kits
    Dominion Energy South Carolina 696,385 No specific statement. source
    Duke Energy Carolinas / Progress (SC) 712,299 No specific statement.
    Santee Cooper 185,529 No specific statement. source
    Berkeley Electric Cooperative 115,117 No specific statement.

    Customer counts: EIA Form 861, 2024. Positions checked October 18, 2026.

    Interconnection terms for a sub-1.2 kW system

    RegulatorSouth Carolina Public Service Commission (Dominion, Duke).
    Governing ruleSC Generator Interconnection Standard; Act 62 (2019) Solar Choice.
    Smallest tierCertified inverter <=20 kW.
    Application feeNot stated for <=20 kW (Fast Track >20 kW $750).
    Electrician / permit2020 NEC (2023 pending); local permits; LLR licensing with homeowner exemption.
    Export compensationSolar Choice netting (Dominion/Duke); avoided cost ~4 c (Santee Cooper).
    Electrical code2020 NEC (eff. 1/1/2023; 2023 in process).
    In practice
    • 2026 bill is an HOA bill, not an interconnection bill.
    • Richest Southeast state credit; eligibility untested.

    Plug-in solar bills in South Carolina, 2025–2026

    BillSponsorStatusWhat it would do
    H 4579Rep. Mike Burns (R-Greenville)Prefiled 12/16/2025; House LCI; no action; new bill needed 2027.Balcony Solar Panels: bars HOA/covenant and state restrictions only - no interconnection provisions.

    State incentives

    • SC credit 25% (max $3,500/yr) SC Code 12-6-3587 - plug-in eligibility untested.
    • Santee Cooper rebate (contractor).
    • No sales-tax exemption.

    Who is pushing for a law

    • SACE
    • Conservation Voters of SC
    • Bright Saver

    Savings preview: 800 W kit in South Carolina

    About 909 kWh per year at 15.47¢/kWh, assuming a south-facing balcony or patio mount with typical shading losses.

    Adjust for your setup →

    ≈ $141/year

    Frequently asked questions

    Is plug-in solar legal in South Carolina?

    Not yet. South Carolina considered a plug-in solar bill (H 4579) that did not pass in 2026; a new version is expected. Until then, utility interconnection rules apply.

    Do I need a permit or electrician for plug-in solar in South Carolina?

    Default. Check with your local building department before you plug in.

    Do I have to tell my utility in South Carolina?

    Default. Plugging in a grid-tied kit without following this can breach your service agreement.

    What can an 800 W plug-in kit save in South Carolina?

    Roughly 909 kWh and about $141 per year at South Carolina's average residential rate of 15.47¢/kWh, assuming a typical balcony or patio mount. See the calculator for your exact setup.

    Sources

    1. Bright Saver state tracker
    2. ncel.net
    3. scstatehouse.gov
    4. energysage.com
    5. Mike Holt NEC adoption list
    6. EIA Form 861 (2024)

    Spotted a change in South Carolina's law? Tell us and we will update this page.