Home › Laws by state › Hawaii
Is plug-in solar legal in Hawaii?
- Introduced
- Passed one chamber
- Passed both chambers
- Signed
- In effect
What this means for you
✓ What you can do
- Apply for interconnection like any small generator (No size floor), Not stated (gap).
- Use portable panels with a power station, never connected to house wiring, with no permission at all.
- Install conventional rooftop or ground-mount solar through the standard interconnection process.
✕ Not yet / not allowed
- Plug a grid-tied kit into an outlet without an interconnection agreement; it can breach your service terms.
- Expect a permit or wiring exemption; none exists without a law.
- Count on SB 2902 this year: Passed Senate 2/12/2026; House EEP HD1 3/19/2026; died in House CPC (May 2026); deferred to 2027.
What the rules say
Hawaii's plug-in bills passed the Senate but died in the House in 2026; HECO interconnection rules apply.
Before you plug in: Hawaii checklist
- The rule that applies is Hawaii Public Utilities Commission's interconnection process: HECO Tariff Rule 14H; Smart Renewable Energy Export / Non-Export programs.
- A plug-in kit falls in the smallest tier (No size floor). Not stated (gap).
- Permits: County electrical permit; 2020 NEC.
- Only consider kits with a UL 1741-listed inverter (UL 3700 preferred); a non-listed inverter will not be approved anywhere.
- What exports are worth: PUC-set export credits under Smart Renewable Energy Export; no retail NEM.
- If approval is slow or costly, a portable panel and power station (never connected to house wiring) needs no permission.
- Watch SB 2902 / HB 2486 / HB 2435 / HB 2609: Passed Senate 2/12/2026; House EEP HD1 3/19/2026; died in House CPC (May 2026); deferred to 2027.
The rules in detail
Hawaii has no statute specific to plug-in solar (the only bill so far is SB 2902 / HB 2435 (also SB 3003, HB 2486)). Average residential electricity price: 48¢ per kWh (EIA, July 2026).
- Utilities: Passed Senate; died in House.
Your utility's rules in Hawaii
No utility in Hawaii publishes a rule that specifically allows or bans outlet-connected generation, so the general interconnection agreement is what applies. Here is what the largest residential utilities say and require.
| Utility | Residential customers | Published position on plug-in kits |
|---|---|---|
| Hawaiian Electric (Oahu) | 276,206 | No current statement; 2014 precedent: 'PUC rules give the utility authority to shut off the system and lock it to prevent interconnection until technical and other checks confirm it is safe'. source |
| Hawaii Electric Light | 78,386 | Same company as HECO. |
| Maui Electric | 61,811 | Same company as HECO. |
| Kauai Island Utility Cooperative | 30,109 | Filed comments (not opposition) on SB 2902. source |
Interconnection terms for a sub-1.2 kW system
| Regulator | Hawaii Public Utilities Commission. |
|---|---|
| Governing rule | HECO Tariff Rule 14H; Smart Renewable Energy Export / Non-Export programs. |
| Smallest tier | No size floor; all systems require application and approval. |
| Application fee | Not stated (gap). |
| Electrician / permit | County electrical permit; 2020 NEC. |
| Export compensation | PUC-set export credits under Smart Renewable Energy Export; no retail NEM. |
| Electrical code | 2020 NEC (eff. 3/4/2023). |
| State guidance on plug-in devices | PUC comment on HB 2486: inability to track devices 'may lead to safety issues for utility workers'. |
- Only state with documented utility lockout threats for unapproved PV (2014).
- 2026 bill limited to condo units.
Plug-in solar bills in Hawaii, 2025–2026
| Bill | Sponsor | Status | What it would do |
|---|---|---|---|
| SB 2902 | Not listed on bill text (Senate EIA Chair Wakai advanced SD1) | Passed Senate 2/12/2026; House EEP HD1 3/19/2026; died in House CPC (May 2026); deferred to 2027. | <=1.2 kW 120 V outlet UL-certified; narrowed to condominium units; PUC no-fee registry. |
| HB 2486 / HB 2435 / HB 2609 | HB 2609 Rep. Trish La Chica | Did not pass. | Companion framework / anti-covenant / plug-in bills. |
State incentives
- Renewable Energy Technologies Income Tax Credit 35% up to $5,000 per system (5 kW system definition).
- No sales tax (GET applies).
Who is pushing for a law
- Hawaii Solar Energy Association
- Bright Saver
- Sierra Club of Hawaii
- 350Hawaii
- Greenpeace Hawaii
- League of Women Voters of Hawaii
- Citizens' Climate Lobby Hawaii
- Solar United Neighbors Action
Savings preview: 800 W kit in Hawaii
Adjust for your setup →≈ $461/year
Frequently asked questions
Is plug-in solar legal in Hawaii?
Not yet. Hawaii considered a plug-in solar bill (SB 2902 / HB 2435 (also SB 3003, HB 2486)) that did not pass in 2026; a new version is expected. Until then, utility interconnection rules apply.
Do I need a permit or electrician for plug-in solar in Hawaii?
Default. Check with your local building department before you plug in.
Do I have to tell my utility in Hawaii?
Not fully settled. Bill (SB 3003): PUC online registry, no fee
What can an 800 W plug-in kit save in Hawaii?
Roughly 960 kWh and about $461 per year at Hawaii's average residential rate of 48¢/kWh, assuming a typical balcony or patio mount. See the calculator for your exact setup.